Revoking Points from Individual Pins and Comments

Though we truly root for intellectual freedom at Yellowdig and very rarely see a need to censure or moderate content that is posted, occasionally a student will post off-topic content or content that otherwise tries to "game the system" to earn points.  On these rare occasions, students will often mark posts as Not Relevant, which will automatically call attention to the board owner. 

Whether students call attention to it or not, for any posted content instructors have the ability to easily revoke points earned by learners. However, research on social learning has shown that revoking points can reduce social collaboration and idea sharing, so please use this as a last resort rather than a first response.  In general, you can promote good content and appropriate point earning by rewarding good posts with Upvotes, Badges, and your own congratulatory Comments, rather than revoking points for material that is lower quality.  If a board administrator does revoke points, we typically recommend communicating the reason to the learner so that they can understand how to adjust their behavior.

 

Who can revoke points?

The board owner and any board administrators can revoke points earned by a board follower (e.g. student) for a particular Pin or Comment.

 

How can I revoke points?

Revoke points for any Pin or Comment by clicking on the "revoke" icon that appears below the Pin with the other social function buttons or at the top right of a Comment next to the badge icon.

  

Who can see that points were revoked?

Other than the board owner and administrators, only the student whose points were revoked would be able to see the revoke icon. The revoke icon is hidden from all other board followers, so that this remains one-to-one feedback unless the instructor decides to address the issue with the larger class.

 

How will the follower know when points are revoked?

The follower will receive an email notification (by default) when points are revoked. The email address of the person who revoked the points is included in the notification email to the follower, allowing them to get in touch via email if they want to discuss why the points were revoked.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.