Flagged posts are meant to keep unwanted content out of your community. If a user makes a post that does not fit the community, or is considered inappropriate, the post can be marked as flagged. When a post is flagged, admins and the user will receive an email notification. The flagged post will be removed from the community, and the user that posted it will have their point count reduced. The admin must view the post and determine if it does not align with community standards. Once this is determined, the admin can decide to keep the post flagged or unflag it. Once the post is unflagged, it will be visible again in the community feed and points will be returned to the student.
Step 1: Navigate to the Community tab.
Step 2: Mark the unwanted post as flagged. To do this, select the three horizontal dots in the upper right-hand corner of the post. Once you click the three dots, click “Report This Post”.
Anyone in the community can report a post, but only instructors can determine if the content is inappropriate. Students will receive a notification when their post has been flagged.
Step 3: Once you select “Report This Post,” a box will appear asking “Are you sure you want to mark this post as not relevant?” You can also include a reason for your report and a report category. When finished, click “Yes I’m Sure” to submit.
Step 4: Both the admin and the user will receive a notification that the post has been flagged.
Step 5: To see what post has been flagged, navigate to your community, and click the “Flagged Posts” tab.
Step 6: After reviewing the post, you can choose to unflag the post by clicking on the three horizontal dots in the upper right-hand corner. Once unflagged, the post will return to the community feed, and the user’s points will be returned.
You can also send a message to the user about their post by hovering over their profile and clicking “message”.
Overall, we have found that not many posts need to be flagged in Yellowdig communities. If you feel that it is necessary, use the Flagged Posts feature to keep unwanted content out of your community. Happy digging!